It was a hard-fought season for the Victoria Generals in the Texas Collegiate League, and despite an early 5-1 lead in last night's game, the Brazos Valley Bombers ended up with the championship crown with a 7-5 win.

The two teams had split the first two games of the series with the Bombers winning in Bryan on Monday night 4-1 and the Generals taking a 7-0 game two in win Victoria on Tuesday night, but the momentum of that win wasn't enough to pick up game 3.

The Bombers got out to a 1-0 lead in the bottom of the first inning on an RBI groundout by G.R. Hinsley off of Generals starting pitcher Kaleb Keith.

The Generals scored all five of their runs in the game in the top of the second inning to take a 5-1 lead.  With the bases loaded, Alvaro Rondon shot a single into the outfield to score Jacob Hubert and Drew Featherston.  J.B. Moss delivered a two-run triple to the gap in right-center to bring in J.D. Stinnett and Rondon.  Moss then came into score on an RBI groundout by Romeo Cortina.

The score remained 5-1 until the bottom of the fifth inning when the Bombers mounted a six-run rally to come from behind and take a 7-5 lead.  With the bases loaded, Horacio Correa hit an RBI single.  Brett Kauten then delivered a bases-clearing triple down the right-field line to tie the game up at 5-5.  After a Generals pitching change, Kris Looper came in and immediately gave up the go-ahead run on an RBI single by Hinsley.  Hinsley came into score on a Cody Lovejoy RBI single later in the inning.

Keith took the loss for the Generals as he allowed six runs on five hits in 4.2 innings.  He walked three and struck out four.

The Generals offense could not get anything going off of Bombers relief pitcher Jason Freeman.  Freeman tossed 5.2 innings and allowed just four hits with 10 strikeouts to pick up the win.  Parker Ray picked up the save as he tossed the final 1.1 innings with three strikeouts.

The Generals finish the 2013 season with an overall record of 32-31.  The 2013 season marks the fourth time in five years that the Generals have reached the TCL Championship Series.  The Generals last won the TCL Championship in 2010.

Either way, the Generals have a lot to be proud of, and we're happy they're a part of our community.

We'll get 'em next year!