Contact Us

That Time Guns N’ Roses Cut ‘Use Your Illusion’ in Half

When Guns N’ Roses released their Use Your Illusion I and Use Your Illusion II albums in the fall of 1991, large retail chains such as Wal-Mart and K-Mart refused to stock the titles because of the explicit lyrical content featured on tracks such as “Back Off Bitch” and “Pretty Tied Up.”

As company executive Robert J. Cope explained to the Los Angeles Times, “Wal-Mart feels that revenue realized from the sales of a record with objectionable lyrics would be more than offset by the discontent it might cause customers for making such product available to children.”

Despite the massive loss in sales they faced, the band refused to alter their work by releasing censored versions of the records. In fact, they added their own warning sticker to the albums, suggesting that anyone who doesn’t like their words could “f— off and go buy something from the new age section.” (Reportedly, and hysterically, the sticker was also later banned from use.)

Although they seemed to have survived the boycott pretty well, with each of the records selling over 7,000,000 copies, seven years later the group (or possibly someone at their record label) decided it would be good to have at least some of the Illusion songs on the shelves of those increasingly omnipresent stores. So on Aug. 25, 1998, the single-disc Use Your Illusion was released, featuring 12 of the most popular — and least objectionable — tracks from the 30 included on the original albums.

The cover art for the original albums featured the same image in two different color schemes. These were each cut in half diagonally and pasted together for this new compilation. The tracklist for Use Your Illusion — which you can buy on Amazon, if you’re so inclined — is listed below.

But here’s what we want to know. If you had to cut the Use Your Illusion albums in half, which 15 tracks would you include? Let us know in the comments section below!

Guns N’ Roses ‘Use Your Illusion’ Track Listing
1. “Live and Let Die”
2. “Don’t Cry”
3. “You Ain’t the First”
4. “November Rain”
5. “The Garden”
6. “Dead Horse”
7. “Civil War”
8. “14 Years”
9. “Yesterdays”
10. “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door”
11. “Estranged”
12. “Don’t Cry” (Alternate Lyrics)

Guns N’ Roses Lineup Changes: A Complete Guide

Every Guns N' Roses Song Ranked

Best of 106.9 Classic Rock

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for All Access Pass quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive All Access Pass contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.