Contact Us

Cheap Trick to Release ‘Christmas Christmas’ Album

Cheap Trick Christmas Christmas
Big Machine Records

Cheap Trick – riding high with latest album We’re All Alright! – have announced the launch of a Christmas-themed LP on Oct. 20 via Big Machine Records. Christmas Christmas includes 12 tracks, three of which were written by the band, while the others are all seasonal classics from down the years.

News of the project arrived in July, when bassist Tom Petersson said the band had completed work “about two months ago” and that it would arrive “around Halloween.” It’s their third record in two years after We’re All Alright! followed 2016’s Bang, Zoom, Crazy… Hello.

Big Machine said in a statement: “Arriving mere months after We’re All Alright!, Cheap Trick co-produced the holiday collection alongside their longtime collaborator, Grammy award winner Julian Raymond. With Christmas Christmas, Cheap Trick deliver a sleigh full of rock’n’roll classics and festive favorites by Wizzard, Slade, Chuck Berry, The Ramones and The Kinks, as well as newly-penned offerings like joyous lead track ‘Merry Christmas Darlings.’” The album is available for pre-order now via a PledgeMusic campaign, which offers a range of bundles from the music itself to Christmas tree ornament, stocking, sweater and scarf.

Asked about the band’s creative drive, Petersson said: “It just seems very natural for us – I can’t really explain it. People will ask for advice and I just don’t have any. We love recording and writing together, and we always search for that perfect record you can never achieve, so I guess that might be one of those things that keeps us going. There’s always room for improvement and change.” The band released a single entitled “I Want You For Christmas” in 1987 – however, it doesn’t appear on the upcoming album.

Cheap Trick – Christmas Christmas track list
1. “Merry Christmas Darlings” (new track)
2. “I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day” (Wizzard)
3. “I Wish It Was Christmas Today” (Julian Casablancas)
4. “Merry Xmas Everybody” (Slade)
5. “Please Come Home For Christmas” (Eagles)
6. “Remember Christmas” (Harry Nilsson)
7. “Run Rudolph Run” (Chuck Berry)
8. “Father Christmas” (The Kinks)
9. “Silent Night”
10. “Merry Christmas (I Don’t Want To Fight Tonight)” (The Ramones)
11. “Our Father Of Life” (new track)
12. “Christmas Christmas” (new track)

Masterpieces: The Very Best Albums From More Than 100 Classic Rock Acts

Next: Top 10 Cheap Trick Songs

Best of 106.9 Classic Rock

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for All Access Pass quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive All Access Pass contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.